Spellcaster – Inventory

VISAGE25. Spellcaster – Inventory (2019)

VISAGE25. Spellcaster – Inventory (2019)

Spellcaster – Inventory

“Inventory” is the debut album by Spellcaster, the myth-weaving solo moniker of Holger Hartvig. As part of both the pioneering and critically acclaimed group Synd og Skam, as well as in equally intriguing Brynje and Posh Isolation-affiliated Boli Group, Holger Hartvig has long been practicing a daring and unconventional approach to composing and producing. Through numerous involvements, Holger Hartvig has since the early 2010s been known as intriguing voice in the frontier of the Copenhagen underground scene.

On “Inventory” though, Holger Hartvig is alone (but in the company of featuring spellcasters), while he brings the same curious vision into his first solo work, which consistently defies labelling. Take “Driftwood” – soaring weightlessly in the cool Imogen Heap-like crispness of sweeping distorted vocals and a symphonic use of gorgeous guitar mosaics. Or “Hollowalk”, introducing swaying fresh water lead vocals by Danish artist Cæcilie Trier (CTM). Or the strangely dystopian banger “Path”. The album is full of clashes between electroacoustic soundscapes and human voice in several shapes, negotiating complex emotions towards the greater changes in our worlds.

Hartvig says about the album:
“A spell collection on voice and memory, timeleap and timelessness. the voices and memories being the strings in a textile of realities. driven by the wish to create story-creators, is the spell collection asking? becoming bard in harmony with fellow spellcasters, transmitting data, a bell rings”

Digital release date 1st of May 2019. Cat.no. VISAGE25.

Composed, written, performed and produced by Spellcaster / Holger Hartvig, except:
Guitar on Driftwood by Arthur Carlander
Bass on Refrain by Emil Elg
Refrain produced by Asger Nielsen
Vocals on Formulae by Melobytes and Tony Robbins
Vocals on Bardly by Alaiyah, Blandine Julus and Little Artist
French lyrics on Bardly by Marcel Zang
Shipwreck coproduced by Asger Nielsen
Vocals on Hollowalk by CTM, Emil Elg, Ydegirl and Niels Bohr
Graphics by LOL Beslutning, Baigeflame and Spellcaster
Special thanks to Stephanie Bech
Love to all brothers and sisters

Press photos:

Spellcaster press photo 1

Spellcaster, selfie


Spellcaster press photo 2

Spellcaster, by Baigeflame